Fair Housing vs. Unfair Housing

Do you know the difference?

Knowing the difference between fair housing and unfair housing isn't as obvious as you might think. This blog aims to present a variety of important and interesting fair housing issues.

If you're an apartment professional, avoid costly mistakes by reading the stories of others who — even with good intentions — learned compliance lessons the hard way. (For the easy way, click here.)

If you live in an apartment, get familiar with your rights when it comes to housing discrimination, as well as your options for seeking justice.

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

Fair Housing Month: What Are 'Protected Classes'?

Fair Housing Month commemorates the passage of the Fair Housing Act (FHA), a law that protects people against housing discrimination based on certain characteristics, commonly known as "protected classes."

Today, the FHA, as amended, includes seven protected classes:
  • race
  • color
  • religion
  • national origin
  • sex
  • disability
  • familial status
What about other protected classes, such as sexual orientation? What's the difference between race and color? What does familial status cover, exactly?

Get the answers to these and other frequently asked questions on this topic by reading my "Protected Classes FAQ" for About.com.

Return tomorrow for the eighth part of this special "Fair Housing Month" feature at Fairhousingblog.com.

No comments: